APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Certified Birth Certificate with raised seal
issued from County or State. (Not a
Hospital Certificate or State Notification
of Birth Registration.)

Photo IDs
Proof of Residency for both applicants
Social Security Numbers

Last Previous Marriage - Death
Certificate, Findings & Conclusions of
Final Divorce Judgment or State
Annulment signed by a judge

Date of Wedding, County and City,
Village or Township in which the
marriage will occur

Officiant’'s name, address & phone
number

Correct spelling of parents’ legal names:
First, Middle and Last (maiden name for
mother)

Parental Consent Form - if under 18
years of age

*$75 Application Fee (Check or Cash only)

*$25 waiver fee (in addition to

Application fee) if license is applied for 0-

5 days prior to wedding date (provided
only under special circumstances)

Certified Documents from the Register of
Deeds: Birth Certificates, Death Certificates
and Marriage Certificates are available from the
county where the event occurred.

Divorce Judgments from the Clerk of
Courts: Copies of final Divorce Judgments
are available from the county where the event

occurred.

Information Regarding
MARRIAGE LICENSES

Jill M. Lau
County Clerk
Door County

To Contact Us

for Appointments

Phone: (920) 746-2200 or
(920) 746-2201

Email: countyclerk@co.door.wi.us
Website: www.co.door.wi.gov

Door County Judge:

Judge D. Todd Ehlers........(920) 746-2204

Door County
Court Commissioners:

Atty. Randall Nesbitt............ (920) 743-6505
Atty. Trudy Toft.................. (920) 743-9231
Atty. Nina Martell................. (920) 746-4475
Jennifer Moeller.................. (920) 746-2482
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DOOR COUNTY
WISCONSIN

MARRIAGE LICENSE
INFORMATION

JILLM. LAU
COUNTY CLERK
421 Nebraska Street

Sturgeon Bay, Wi 54235
(920) 746-2200



WHERE TO APPLY - (by appointment)

Wisconsin residents must apply in the
county where one or both parties has
resided for at least 30 days, no matter
where you wish to get married in
Wisconsin.

Out-of-State applicants must apply in the
Wisconsin County where the ceremony will
be held.

Both must show proof of residency at
time of application.

DOOR COUNTY

Door County Clerks Office (Rm A113)
Government Center - Lobby Level
421 Nebraska Street, Sturgeon Bay
920-746-2200

Marriage Licenses applications are taken
WEEKDAYS, BY_ APPOINTMENT, from
8a.m.-11:30a.m. and 1:00 p.m.-4p.m. on the
half hour.

The marriage license application process takes
approximately 20-30 minutes to complete.

WHEN TO APPLY

Application must be made at least 5 FULL
DAYS before ceremony since a 5-day
waiting period is required before license can
be issued (issued on 6th day, closed
weekends and Holidays) and within 30 days
from wedding date. License is only valid for
30 days from issuance date.

Special Dispensation: A 5-day waiting
period is required by law, but under special
dispensation may be waived for an
additional $25.00 fee.

*FEES:

*$75.00- Marriage License fee
*$25.00 - Waiver fee to waive the waiting
period due to special circumstances.

AGE:

Any person who has attained the age of 18

years may marry. If a person is between the ages
of 16 and 18 years, the license will be issued only

with written consent of parents, guardian or
custodian. Parents must be present in County
Clerk’s Office to fill out consent forms.

PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY:

- Blood relatives who are nearer of kin than
second cousin, except when the female is
55 years of age or older, or proof of sterility

is provided.
- Persons who are incompetent.
- A person under the age of 16.

- Persons who have not been divorced for
more than six months, whether the divorce

was granted in Wisconsin or elsewhere.

CEREMONY:

OFFICIALS: Judges of court of record,
Ordained Ministers, Priests, and Family
Court Commissioners may perform the
ceremony.

WITNESSES: Two witnesses, age 18 or
over, are required in addition to the person
officiating, but do not have to be in the
wedding party.

VALIDITY

Non-Residents: Marriage in Wisconsin of
non-residents who are prohibited from
marrying in the state of their residence is
null and void.

Out-of-State: Marriage of Wisconsin
residents in another state is null and void if
such marriage would be prohibited in
Wisconsin

REQUIREMENTS:

A. Both applicants must apply, together,
in person.

B. Applicants must present a
CERTIFIED copy of their birth
certificate, with a raised seal
affixed by the Register of Deeds.
[S.S. 765.09(3)] If the Birth Certificate
is in a foreign language, it must be
translated in English and certified by
a translator — No Exceptions.

(Hospital Birth Certificates and State
Notification of Birth Registration are NOT
acceptable; they are not legal documents).

C. If previously married, present signed
copies of judgment of divorce, court
annulment papers, or death
certificate, in English, from last
marriage. Divorce must be final a
minimum of 6 months.

D. Name, address & phone number of
officiant, date and location of
ceremony. (If using a judge, the
judge must be from Wisconsin)

E. Social Security Number.
(You MUST provide a Social Security
number if you have been assigned
one. We cannot issue Marriage
License without number)

F. Documentary proof of identification
Each party must present photo
identification (driver’s license,
passport, alien card, school ID, etc.)

G. Documentary proof of Residence
Each party must present document-
ation showing a current address for
proof of residency (drivers license,
rent receipt, bank statement, utility
bill, etc. Must be over 30 days old).

Without the required information, a
marriage license will not be issued.



